Compustat Monthly Updates - Supplemental Short Interest File
Posted: 16 June 2016 03:44 PM   [ Ignore ]
Newbie
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2016-06-16

I am new to WRDS and was trying to get data from WRDS for Compustat Monthly Updates - Supplemental Short Interest File. The criteria I used for search was date range Jan 2000 to Mar 2000 and one specific ticker code. But am getting an “ERROR: Column cik could not be found in the table/view identified with the correlation name A.”

Am not using ‘CIK’ for search.

Can someone tell me what this error is and how I can fix this?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 June 2016 12:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2011-09-19

hi Mishra,

I’ve not seen such an error before—did you solve it in the meanwhile?

Best Regards,

Joost

 Signature 

To reply/post new questions: Please use the group WRDS/SAS on Google Groups! http://groups.google.com/d/forum/wrdssas

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2016 12:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Newbie
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2016-06-16

I think that was problem with error message. Now its showing “ERROR: Column TIC could not be found in the table/view identified with the correlation name A.”  This makes sense since am searching with ticker (TIC). However, it gets weirder again when I try to search with set of GVKeys instead of ticker. This time also I get the same error “ERROR: Column TIC could not be found in the table/view identified with the correlation name A.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2016 12:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Newbie
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2016-06-16
Mishra - 21 June 2016 12:45 PM

I think that was problem with error message. Now its showing “ERROR: Column TIC could not be found in the table/view identified with the correlation name A.”  This makes sense since am searching with ticker (TIC). However, it gets weirder again when I try to search with set of GVKeys instead of ticker. This time also I get the same error “ERROR: Column TIC could not be found in the table/view identified with the correlation name A.”


Please find attached a screenshot of the error. It would be great if anyone can help me with this since I need this data for my research work.

 

Image Attachments
WRDS_error_1.PNG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2016 12:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2011-09-19

hi Mishra,

Could it be that somewhere ticker symbol was selected? In the last line “extra variables ...” it includes TIC.

Best Regards,

Joost

 Signature 

To reply/post new questions: Please use the group WRDS/SAS on Google Groups! http://groups.google.com/d/forum/wrdssas

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2016 12:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Newbie
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2016-06-16

I had selected CUSIP and Ticker in the Query variables option. It was my understanding that this option is to choose the variables needed in the output file. I guess am wrong then, am I?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2016 12:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2011-09-19

The error in the image that you attached gives me the impression that there is no ticker variable on the dataset. (so if you run the same query without selecting ticker it may work).

J.

 Signature 

To reply/post new questions: Please use the group WRDS/SAS on Google Groups! http://groups.google.com/d/forum/wrdssas

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2016 01:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Newbie
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2016-06-16

Am getting similar error if I select any key (like CUSIP, SIC, CIK) from query variables option. Just to clarify, what exactly does the query variables do? Does it restrict the query somehow? Because we are not giving any values for these variables.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2016 01:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2011-09-19

Ok—maybe that is the problem. You can use these variables to filter the results. Can you make a screenshot of that part of the form (form filled out)?

J.

 Signature 

To reply/post new questions: Please use the group WRDS/SAS on Google Groups! http://groups.google.com/d/forum/wrdssas

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2016 01:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Newbie
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2016-06-16

Please find attached the screenshots

Image Attachments
WRDS_error_2.PNG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2016 01:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2011-09-19

hi Mishra,

I’m afraid I don’t know what is going on—it is time to email the ‘real’ wrds helpdesk.

Best,

Joost

 Signature 

To reply/post new questions: Please use the group WRDS/SAS on Google Groups! http://groups.google.com/d/forum/wrdssas

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2016 01:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Newbie
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2016-06-16

Thank you! smile I will do that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2016 01:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2011-09-19

smile

 Signature 

To reply/post new questions: Please use the group WRDS/SAS on Google Groups! http://groups.google.com/d/forum/wrdssas

Profile