how to include companies which have availeble data for a certain number of consecutive years
Posted: 13 January 2016 06:43 AM   [ Ignore ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2016-01-13

Hello,

I’m having some trouble replicating the data set from a certain paper.
It states that in the dataset i should only include firms who have availeble data (liabilities and stockholders equity) for at least 5 consecutive years.
However I am having troubles achieving this within compustat
Can somebody help me?

Kind regards
Dexter

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2016 08:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2011-09-19

hi Dexter,

The common way to do this would be first to download the data of all firms that may have 5 years, import it into SAS, Stata, R, etc, and then filter such that the requirements are met.

Hope this helps,

Joost

 Signature 

To reply/post new questions: Please use the group WRDS/SAS on Google Groups! http://groups.google.com/d/forum/wrdssas

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2016 08:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2016-01-13

Hi Joost

Thank you very much for the fast response!
I already had a feeling that it should be done in the way you describe, I will use stata to filter the date.
One small extra question, Is it possible within compustat to filter on companies with their headquartes in the united states only?
Or do I have to do this via stata again?

Thanks again
Dexter

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2016 08:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2011-09-19

hi Dexter,

You’re welcome—when you say filtering on Compustat you mean to add a filter in the web query form on the WRDS website when you specify the data you want? As far as I know, that is not possible, as the headquarter info is in another dataset ( field ‘LOC’ in dataset ‘Company’—https://wrds-web.wharton.upenn.edu/wrds//tools/variable.cfm?library_id=129&file_id=65822 ).

So, you would need to download Compustat, and download Company, match these (on gvkey) and then filter on LOC.

Best Regards,

Joost

 Signature 

To reply/post new questions: Please use the group WRDS/SAS on Google Groups! http://groups.google.com/d/forum/wrdssas

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2016 08:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2016-01-13

Thank you again for the very fast response!
This helps me a lot.
It was indeed ‘LOC’ what I needed to use.
I think i can go on from here

Thanks again for the help and the quick responses
Dexter

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2016 09:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2011-09-19

Great! smile

Take care,

Joost

 Signature 

To reply/post new questions: Please use the group WRDS/SAS on Google Groups! http://groups.google.com/d/forum/wrdssas

Profile