Total Return Index / Include Dividends
Posted: 19 December 2013 02:32 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2013-11-26

Okay, this question will definitely reveal that I am pretty new to the database—but I just don’t find a clear solution searching the internet.

Which is the easiest way to include dividends to obtain (economically reasonable) daily stock price returns?

In empirical papers I found sth like this:

(PRCCM*TRFM)/AJEXM

i.e.

(P*Total Return Factor)/Adjustment Factor

No matter what I tried I get different returns compared to other databases…

Any suggestions?

Thanks for any help!

Posted: 19 December 2013 04:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2011-09-19

hi,

Are you using Merged Global Security Daily File (G_SECD), or the ‘regular’ CRSP data for US firms?

G_SECD does indeed need to be corrected for dividends, but also (I believe) for stock splits. CRSP’s RET variable does not need any adjustments.

It is probably best to start computing the returns for one company (preferably one that had stock splits), and compare your returns with returns on Yahoo finance, or another source.

I have tried using G_SECD once, but I gave up on it (same problem you have: could not get the returns to match those in another database).

Hope this helps,

Joost

Signature 

To reply/post new questions: Please use the group WRDS/SAS on Google Groups! http://groups.google.com/d/forum/wrdssas

Posted: 19 December 2013 04:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2013-11-26
Joost Impink - 19 December 2013 04:42 PM

hi,

Are you using Merged Global Security Daily File (G_SECD), or the ‘regular’ CRSP data for US firms?

G_SECD does indeed need to be corrected for dividends, but also (I believe) for stock splits. CRSP’s RET variable does not need any adjustments.