Library IBES does not exist.
Posted: 18 January 2013 10:50 AM   [ Ignore ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2013-01-15

HI,

I use PC remote (see code), to access IBES, after sign on, sas says “Library IBES does not exist”. I do not know why? Could anyone help?


%let wrds = wrds.wharton.upenn.edu 4016;options comamid = TCP remote=WRDS;
signon username=_prompt_;


rsubmit;


libname ibes ‘/wrds/ibes/sasdata’;
run;


proc contents data =ibes.ACTU_EPSUS;
run;


thanks,

-R

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 January 2013 11:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2011-09-19

hi R,

That should not happen. The code looks good (assuming you also have an ‘endrsubmit’ there).

I ran this code with no errors:

%let wrds wrds.wharton.upenn.edu 4016;options comamid TCP remote=WRDS;
signon username=_prompt_;

rsubmit;
libname ibes '/wrds/ibes/sasdata';
run;
endrsubmit

Make sure you select and run (F3) the whole block, not one line at the time.

best regards,

Joost

 Signature 

To reply/post new questions: Please use the group WRDS/SAS on Google Groups! http://groups.google.com/d/forum/wrdssas

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 January 2013 02:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2013-01-15

Joost,

THANKS !!!

You are correct about this code has no errors, But, I included


proc contents data =IBES.ACTU_EPSUS;
run;

after endrsubmit;  and got this error

proc contents data =IBES.ACTU_EPSUS;
ERROR: Libname IBES is not assigned.
  run;

NOTE: Statements not processed because of errors noted above.
NOTE: PROCEDURE CONTENTS used (Total process time):


this is what I did
+++++++++++++++++
%let wrds = wrds.wharton.upenn.edu 4016;options comamid = TCP remote=WRDS;
signon username=_prompt_;

rsubmit;
libname ibes ‘/wrds/ibes/sasdata’;
run;
endrsubmit;


proc contents data =IBES.ACTU_EPSUS;
run;
+++++++++++++++++

- R

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 January 2013 03:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2011-09-19

hi R,

the proc contents needs to be within the ‘rsumbit’ and ‘endrsubmit’ block, like this:

rsubmit;
libname ibes '/wrds/ibes/sasdata';

proc contents data =ibes.ACTU_EPSUS;run;

endrsubmit


‘rsubmit’ means remote submit; this code runs on the wrds server. The library ibes is assigned to /wrds/ibes/sasdata, this is a directory on their servers.
If you run ‘proc contents data = ibes… etc’ outside ‘rsubmit’, it will execute on your machine. Unless you have a library ibes assigned also on your own computer, you will get an error that the library ibes is not assigned.

Hope this helps,

Joost

 

 

 

 Signature 

To reply/post new questions: Please use the group WRDS/SAS on Google Groups! http://groups.google.com/d/forum/wrdssas

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 January 2013 08:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2013-01-15

Joost,

You are of great help. It means a lot to beginners like me.

let me know if my understanding below is correct.

if I use several procedures such as proc content, proc means, proc sql, I must run all of them at once, I can not only submit proc content, then after seeing the results, and run the next procedure, e.g. proc means. if I did this, then error message says “library IBES does not exist”

I think that is what you mean from last response.

- R

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 January 2013 09:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2011-09-19

hi R,

It depends. You have SAS installed on your pc, and the WRDS server has SAS installed.
When you execute SAS on your pc, you can do that procedure-by-procedure - so, it doesn’t need to be all at once. But, if you want to run code on the WRDS servers, you need to enclose the code (can be a single line) by ‘rsubmit’ and ‘endrsubmit’. These statements (rsubmit/endrsubmit) make the code run on WRDS servers. Running a single line that should run on WRDS (like using a library on their server) without rsubmit/endrsubmit will give errors, because SAS will try to run it on your machine.

Hope this helps. Play around a little and feel free to drop a line in case you get stuck.

best regards,

Joost

 Signature 

To reply/post new questions: Please use the group WRDS/SAS on Google Groups! http://groups.google.com/d/forum/wrdssas

Profile